THIS ICEHOUSE IS WARM

Most of us when asked to picture an  Icehouse would imagine a place of frosty relations and cool air.

Australian rock band Icehouse is far from being a freezing entity in the Australian Music Scene. They are a band that inspires me and many other music lovers. They are a band whose career has been active for 37 years and doesn’t look like stopping in the near future.

Icehouse started out as Flowers in 1977 but came to mainstream attention in 1980 with the release of their debut single “Can’t help myself” followed by their debut album “Icehouse”.  The following year Flowers embarked on an international career and changed their name to Icehouse to avoid conflicts and confusion with another band.

Their debut album is one of my all time favorite albums. Each song is inspirational and a joy to sing along to. My favorite song on the album, Boulevarde,  was not released as a single but in my opinion it is the best song on the album. It is a song that I instantly want to sing along to every time I hear it. It’s a song that brings a smile to my face and I guess for these reasons alone it is inspirational.

Over the years the members of Icehouse have changed but the one constant is the creator, New South Wales Conservatorium of Music trained,  Iva Davies. In reality it is Iva Davies who is the inspiration and in a lot of ways is Icehouse.

I was watching a DVD of their hits the other day and was quickly reminded of what an amazing musician and songwriter Iva Davies is.

Leave a Reply

